Phil Gallagher, who plays gore role of Mister Maker on the BBC, presents awards at the Kent event.

Show your support for a school or college star in Kent

The Kent Teacher of the Year Awards were started to mark the vital contribution that teaching staff make to our community. The awards recognise the expertise and dedication that is the hallmark of an outstanding teacher.

Nominations open each January. Award categories include primary, secondary, newly qualified teacher, non teaching member of staff including midday supervisors and caretakers and a volunteer award, which includes members of the PTA and governors.

A panel of judges select winners from the local authority areas, Ashford, Canterbury, Dartford, Dover, Gravesham, Maidstone, Medway, Sevenoaks, Shepway, Swale, Thanet, Tonbridge and Malling and Tunbridge Wells.

Simon Dolby from Streetspace will be chairman of the judging panel at the Kent event for 2020, which is the 20th anniversary of these annual awards.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony in mid May at the Ashford International Hotel. The event is staged by the charity Inspire Schools.

Event timetable:

  • 2 January – noon on 1 March: open for nominations
  • April: Judging panel meets
  • May: Awards celebration for 50 school staff

Click HERE to download best practice booklet detailing 2019 winners

Click HERE to download promotional pack to use in schools

Kent Teacher Of The Year Launch 2020 from Inspire Schools on Vimeo.